Stitching Onto Fabric

I’ve always wondered about stitching onto fabric using soluble Aida so I thought I would give it a try.

My sister does a lot of baking and I wanted to do her a kitchen themed cross stitch I’d seen in a magazine but she said she didn’t want any craft stuff. So I thought I would get an apron and stitch her name onto the pocket.

She loves red and I managed to find a plain beige cotton apron almost like evenweave with red trim in Dunelm which I thought would be perfect.

p1030903

I tacked the plastic Aida onto the pocket, where I could still get my hand inside to stitch comfortably.

I then found some nice decorative lettering from Cross Stitch Crazy Issue 210 which I thought would look very smart.

It wasn’t an easy task stitching onto the fabric as the plastic kept moving and I was losing track of where I was but eventually I managed to get the design finished.

P1030941

Then I had to dissolve the plastic which meant boiling a kettle of water and pouring it over the design I had laid in a bowl. It took a couple of goes to make sure the plastic was all gone but in the end it all worked out.

P1030942

All there was left to do was dry and iron the apron before wrapping it for my sister’s birthday.

She liked the finish product but I forgot to take a picture of it! She didn’t believe it was cross stitch as the design I’d chosen was more back-stitch than actual crosses but I think it all came out well in the end.

I satisfied a curiosity for using plastic soluble stitching but I don’t know if I would use it again. It was difficult stitching on an enclosed area like the pouch of the apron and the design would have looked better more central, but there was the issue of being able to get my hand inside to make the stitches.

I think everyone should try it at least once just to get an idea of what it’s like. It is fun watching the backing disappear and seeing your design form part of something new.

 

Leave a Reply

