Threads…

I’ve been working on my own designs for a little while now, it’s a good way to make use of my sewing box full of threads.

It made me think, looking through the box for a particular colour the other day. I have so many threads of different thickness, age, condition, some branded, some non-branded from cheap sets but to me they are all equal.

I have brought specific threads for magazine projects I wanted to complete but then I look in my sewing box and think, ‘why don’t you use what you have already’?

I have threads that were my Aunts (who died when I was 3) and my Mums from when she stitched years ago, I have threads that were brought for me and I buy a lot of threads. Especially when I see a nice colour I would like to work with or a good price reduction.

I have enough thread in my box to make hundreds of designs and I keep buying more, it really is like an obsession!

I’m making a needle bag for my Mum and instead of buying the threads from the pattern I decided to do it wholly from threads that I have in my sewing box.

I’m working on some Christmas decoration designs and a stocking advent calendar and I will use all my own threads for that too.

I realised that my Aunt would love to know I carried on stitching with her tools and by using her threads in my work she comes along with it. I used some of it in the design I made for my Nan and it was nice as they were very good friends.

Plus the more I use it up the more room I have to buy new threads!!

I’m not sure that all threads are created equal. The modern DMC and Anchor threads are so easy to work with but I find when you use an older thread or a cheap version you find it can frey, break more and isn’t so easy to untangle.

I have brought some colour thread packs from the pound shop before, 20 nicely coloured skeins in a pack for £1, how could I not buy them! I haven’t tried to work with them yet but I’m sure they’ll be fine.

Maybe once I use up all my old and non-branded skeins I will treat myself to one of those DMC or Anchor complete sets that come in wooden drawers and start my threads afresh!

Leave a Reply

