Making Money From Cross Stitch and Crafting…

I was wondering if anyone out there had advice on selling their craft work. I have been told by different people that I should look to sell some of the things that I have made for their kids as they know people who would like them but I don’t really know where to start.

I have a list of ideas for new designs I would like to try out as I’m not sure if you can sell things you have made from published designs, I maybe wrong. But I have no idea where to start in terms of making these designs into cross stitch patterns.

I know if I could make them into a pattern there are websites I can advertise them on so that people could download and make them for themselves. I could also look at selling the designs to magazines as well but I have never used cross stitch pattern software.

I downloaded a couple of free trials of software but on quick looks I was unable to figure out how to use them. I guess I need to work through the tutorials and see if they are workable.

I would be prepared to pay for a full version of software if it was useable to create my designs. I can draw something into a pattern that I would understand to create but something other people can follow is different.

I would also be interested in any books or websites people might have found helpful.

Selling crafts is something that my Mum would like to do when she retires and I have been looking at different options that she is interested in. I just thought I would throw it out to the internet to see what works in the real world.

Ideally we would like to build up a bit of stock and then look at having an online store or attending craft fairs. We went to one earlier in the year that was interesting at the ExCel and we are going to another one in September at Hampton Court Palace which will hopefully give us more of an idea.

Any help or advice would be appreciated. If anyone could recommend any good craft shops or craft fairs in London or surrounding areas that would also be great. We might travel further if it was something that was a must see!

Anyone come across pitfalls of selling or problems with getting insurance etc.?

Thanks a lot, and hopefully I’ll be able to get to know some of you a little better… Charlie.

Leave a Reply

